Having a baby


Well, it’s been 2 weeks since Nathanael came.. Maybe I should share what the birth experience was like… Also, backlogging my posts because I didn’t have the energy/feels to do it when I was in my third trimester.

So let me recap what happened…..

Nathanael was supposed to be due on 22nd Feb (2 days ago actually). Since our 36th week of pregnancy, we were told to come back weekly for check up with the gynae.. On our 37th week check up, I mentioned to the doctor that Nathanael was moving less in my tummy, although he still moves, it wasn’t as active as before. He took an ultrasound and deemed that everything was ok, his development was fine, the amniotic fluid was fine.

However, on our 38th week, I told him that he still isn’t as active as before and when he scanned, he noticed that the amniotic fluid was low and told us that we had to induce labour for the baby to come out..

The reason is this: Amniotic fluid in the womb is actually the baby’s pee. If the fluid is low, it means that the baby isn’t peeing enough which in turn suggests that the placenta is no longer efficient in providing the baby nutrients to grow..

As he is already 38 weeks along and fully developed by then, the doctor told us that the baby can come out already the next day.. We definitely weren’t ready for that! It was only the beginning of Feb when we found out..

So that day, when my husband went back to work, I went home and got ready most of the baby things.. Thank God we packed the hospital bag when we hit the final trimester and got everything that the baby needed before he came..

I put the mattress cover over the mattress, anticipating to do it that weekend instead.. Checked and double checked that we had everything.. Mum came in the evening and Nick came home early from work.. We did our last minute packing and then we went to mum’s place for dinner and rested until it was time to check into the hospital..

Our gynae kept emphasizing to check in after 12mn as any earlier would have additional charges and it would be considered a day’s stay. So after mn, we checked into the delivery suite and there, we waited..

I was dilated at 2cm which did not seem to be opening at all. So at 1am, a nurse inserted a pill into the vagina and we rested.. However, when my doctor came in the morning, he asked why I looked so comfortable.. Apparently, the pill didn’t work.. So he manually burst my water bag at 7am.. I was quite sad because I thought he could come out early and it was definitely a waiting game at this point in time..

There was another couple who checked in about the same time as us and they were out of the delivery suite by morning.. So imagine how sad I was that I had to spend MORE time in the delivery suite..

After the water bag burst, I still didn’t want an epidural but I wasn’t ready for how bad the contractions were to come. I thought using the laughing gas would suffice but it wasn’t.. I felt like I was inhaling plastic and gave up after a while.. Our gynae came before lunch time to check up on us but I was only dilated 3-4cm.. I couldn’t take the pain anymore so I requested for an epidural..

I was scared when the epidural was inserted and moved quite a bit but the anesthetist was super skilled and he put it in with no problem.. and thankfully the nurse was there and I held her hand because the contractions were painful and I was scared..

Right after the epidural was inserted, the pain was gone.. I relaxed much easier and even managed to sleep for a while.. Then, it was lunch time, so I told Nick to go and have his lunch and then come back and hopefully the baby will be out..

Just when he left, I felt the contractions coming in strong again.. I thought the epidural isn’t working.. I called for a nurse and she upped the amount of epidural.. I could feel like I needed to pass motion and needed to push.. She checked my dilation and I was up to 9cm.. FINALLY!! Just 1cm more to go then the baby can come out.. At that time, Nick was still having lunch and the nurse started prepping for the arrival of the little one.. I was getting excited.. like finally, we can leave this cold place!

When Nick came back, he thought I had given birth but I told him I can give birth already.. LOL.. We waited for the doctor to arrive.. Before he arrived, 2 nurses came in and asked me to push so that the baby’s head would be 10% out by the time our gynae arrived..

I pushed a few times and she said very good!! can see the head!! nick went to see and he was like OMG I CAN SEE HIS HEAD! hahaha.. he has hair!! it was quite funny.. and then on another push, they told me to stop and just rest.. And they said the baby was sliding out by himself.. I thought he was sliding back in..

Anyway, our gynae finally arrived and I gave 1.5 pushes and Nathanael was out! After that everything happened so fast.. Nick cut the umbilical cord and then oversaw the baby when the nurse was checking him and our gynae was stitching me up and removing the placenta..

We requested for some skin contact time and it was nice 🙂 I actually look refreshed in the pictures because I didn’t have to push so much.. The pushing and delivering of the baby only took 15-20mins? But the labour part to dilate took WAAAAYYYY  much longer.. 14hrs to be exact.. It was a super long labour.. But I’m glad we didn’t have to do an emergency c-sect..

Then, we were pushed to our single-bedded ward which was super nice at St Raphael Ward in Mount Alvernia Hospital. It was one of the older wards as there was a new St Michael Ward but we were happy with it anyways..

The next few days were a huge blur as so many people came and visited us at the hospital and then we were discharged from the hospital 2 days later..

